South Staffordshire Training Academy

South Staffordshire Training Academy provides a range of courses which take place across South Staffordshire Council's four leisure centres. For details on up and coming courses email swimcoordinator@sstaffs.gov.uk

Courses

National Pool Lifeguard Courses (NPLQ)

  • Monday 21st February to Saturday 26th February 2022 - £275 (£70 non refundable deposit) at Cheslyn Hay Leisure Centre
  • Monday 21st February to Saturday 26th February 2022 – £275 (£70 non refundable deposit) at Wombourne Leisure Centre
  • Monday 11th April to Saturday 16th April 2022 – £275 (£70 non refundable deposit) at Cheslyn Hay Leisure Centre
  • Monday 30th May to Saturday 4th June 2022 – £275 (£70 non refundable deposit) at Wombourne Leisure Centre
  • Monday 1st August to Saturday 6th August 2022 – £275 (£70 non refundable deposit) at Penkridge Leisure Centre
  • Monday 15th August to Saturday 20th August 2022 – £275 (£70 non refundable deposit) at Wombourne Leisure Centre
  • Monday 26th October to Saturday to Saturday 31st October – £275 (£70 non refundable deposit) at Cheslyn Hay Leisure Centre

Pre-requisites for the NPLQ:

  • Must be able to swim 100m on back an front continuously
  • Must be able to jump/dive into the deep end of the pool
  • Must be able to retrieve a manakin from the deepest part of the pool
  • Please visit RLSS.org.uk for further details regarding lifeguarding courses

Safety Award for Teachers/Assistants

Wednesday 1st June – Safety Award for Teachers at Cheslyn Hay Leisure Centre - £95.00 0800hrs – 15.00hrs

  • open to all swim teachers and water assistants who do not hold an NPLQ or equivalent qualification
  • can be used as a renewal for those who hold the award but is near expiry date.
  • Covers rescue techniques, first aid and CPR.

Monday 8th August 2022 - Safety Award for Teachers at Wombourne Leisure Centre - £95.00 0800hrs – 15.00hrs

  • open to all swim teachers and water assistants who do not hold an NPLQ or equivalent qualification
  • can be used as a renewal for those who hold the award but is near expiry date
  • Covers rescue techniques, first aid and CPR.

Wednesday 31st August 2022 - Safety Award for Teachers at Wombourne Leisure Centre - £95.00 0800hrs – 15.00hrs

  • open to all swim teachers and water assistants who do not hold an NPLQ or equivalent qualification
  • can be used as a renewal for those who hold the award but is near expiry date
  • Covers rescue techniques, first aid and CPR.

Aquatic Helper Courses:

Tuesday 31st May - Aquatic Helper at Cheslyn Hay Leisure Centre - £65 – 0800hrs-1500hrs

open to all those acting in a water assistant capacity as volunteers (must be 14years plus) or staff at swim schools where helpers are in the water.

Tuesday 30th August 2022 - Aquatic Helper at Wombourne Leisure Centre - £65 – 0800hrs-1500hrs

open to all those acting in a water assistant capacity as volunteers (must be 14years plus) or staff at swim schools where helpers are in the water.

Swim Teachers Courses:

Monday 21st February to Friday 25th February 2022 - STA Level 2 Award in Swimming Teaching at Codsall Leisure Centre - £295 (£70 non refundable deposit) – first course for those wishing to start a swimming teaching career.

Tuesday 19th April to Friday 22nd April 2022 – STA Level 2 Certificate in Swimming Teaching at Cheslyn Hay Leisure Centre - £295 (£70 non refundable deposit) – second course for those wishing to teach improvers and advanced classes.

Monday 28th July to Friday 1st August 2022 - STA Level 2 Award in Swimming Teaching at Wombourne Leisure Centre - £295 -(£70 non refundable deposit) first course for those wishing to start a swimming teaching career

Tuesday 9th August to Friday 12th August 2022 - STA Level 2 Certificate in Swimming Teaching at Wombourne Leisure Centre - £295 (£70 non refundable deposit) – second course for those wishing to teach improvers and advanced classes

Monday 22nd August to Friday 26th August 2022 – STA Level 2 Award in Swimming Teaching at Cheslyn Hay Leisure Centre - £295 (£70 non refundable deposit) – first course for those wishing to start a swimming teaching career

24th October 2022 to Thursday 27th October 2022 - STA Level 2 Certificate in Swimming Teaching at Wombourne Leisure Centre - £295 (£70 non refundable deposit) – second course for those wishing to teach improvers and advanced classes

Pre requisites:

STA Level 2 Award – must become a member of the STA (for licence/insurance) and be 16 years old to undertake the course

STA Level 2 Certificate – must hold valid membership of the STA to receive certification.

STA Level 2 Safety Award for Teachers/Assistants – must be 16 years old on day of course and be able to perform a rescue in the water STA Aquatic Helper – must be a minimum of 14years old on the day of the course and be able to work in the water at different depths.

Join our team

For vacancies, please visit out jobs page.