How the Council Operates


The Council comprises 49 Councillors elected every four years. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward.

The last election was held in May 2019. The next election is May 2023.

The result of the May 2019 election was that the Conservatives had 35 Councillors elected, Labour 1, UKIP 1, Green 3 and 7 Independents. The current opposition group is the South Staffordshire Independent Group.

Councillors have to agree to follow a Code of Conduct to ensure high standards in the way they undertake their duties. Complaints that they have not followed the Code can be made through the Code of Conduct page.

Council agrees the allowances paid to Councillors for the expenses they incur in their functions each year, the latest allowances were agreed in September 2021.

Leader and Cabinet

The Council has adopted a Leader and Cabinet model of governance. The Leader of the Council was appointed at the Annual Council meeting in May 2019 for a 4 year term of office.

The Council appoints the Leader of the Council who then appoints a Cabinet, including a Deputy leader.

The Leader and Cabinet are responsible for “executive“ functions which are primarily those functions which are not by law, or a decision of the Council, to be exercised by specific Committees (e.g Planning Committee). The Leader also allocates areas of responsibility to members of the Cabinet these are set out in the constitution.

The Cabinet is made up of the Leader and Cabinet Members; Councillor Roger Lees ( Leader), Councillor Rita Heseltine (Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Regulatory Services), Councillor Len Bates (Cabinet Member for Community Services), Councillor Robert Reade (Cabinet Member for Welfare Services), Councillor David Williams (Cabinet Member for Business Transformation), Councillor Terry Mason (Cabinet Member for Planning and Business Enterprise), Councillor Victoria Wilson ( Assistant Cabinet Member for Planning Services)

Council and Committees

All Councillors meet together as the Council. At Council Councillors decide the Council's overall policies and set the budget each year.

Meetings of the Council, Committees and Cabinet are normally open to the public as are the decisions made by them. There are in addition a number of Committees exercising various responsibilities. Details of these can be found in Part 2 of the Council's constitution and on the website pages for those Committees.

Details of the agendas for the Meetings and the decisions of the Meetings can be found on the pages for those Committees.


Each year the Council appoints a Chairman of Council and a Vice Chairman. In May 2022 Councillor Matt Ewart was appointed as the Chairman and Councillor Meg Barrow was appointed as Vice Chairman. Both Councillor Ewart and Councillor Barrow will hold their office for 2022/23.

To invite the Chairman to your function or event please complete the Chairman's Pro Forma.


The Council is required to operate in accordance with the constitution. This is the document, approved by Council, that sets out how decisions are reached, how debates take place and who has authority to make decisions on behalf of the Council.


The Council employs officers to carry out its responsibilities including a Chief Executive, who is Dave Heywood. Click on the links to view the Corporate Leadership Team and the Leadership Team Organisation Chart. The Monitoring Officer is Lorraine Fowkes and the Section 151 finance officer is Peter Shakespear.


Get in touch


South Staffs Council

Wolverhampton Road, Codsall

South Staffordshire


Show on map

Office Opening Times

If you are unable to find what you need online today please contact us on 01902 696000.

Mon-Tue,Thu-Fri 09:00am - 17:00pm
Wed 10:00am - 17:00pm
Sat-Sun Closed

Face to Face appointments are available but must be pre booked in advance of your visit by calling 01902 696000.